Senate Republicans Vote Once Again To Protect Big Oil Welfare

March 29, 2012

In the Senate today, 45 of the 47 Republican members, along with 4 (Blue Dog) Democrats, voted to continue corporate welfare for oil companies (See list below). Therefore taxpayers of America must continue to come up with an additional $4 billion every year* in taxes to make up for this taxpayer-gift to these oil companies.

These subsidies have been a gift for nearly a century now. But what makes it so much worse today is that oil companies earn $4 billion every single week. In fact, they’ve made $1 TRILLION over the past ten years. So why should we be forced to pay a price at the gas pumps that earn oil companies that kind of profits plus pay a big part of their taxes for them? Several politicians who continue to defend this corporate welfare claim we taxpayers should be making this sacrifice in order to reward oil companies for being successful. Really?!?

Knowing the issue was coming up for a vote in the Senate today, the oil industry launched full-court press against the Senate bill a few days ago. I really doubt they needed to spend that money. They already had the necessary politicians in their pockets to defeat it.

To add insult to injury, oil companies aren’t satisfied with the current level of corporate welfare. After getting one of their prize locations opened up for drilling – one that they’ve been “begging for” for decades – they are now blackmailing the state of Alaska for $2 billion more in tax cuts. In fact, they’re telling the Alaskan government that if they don’t get that additional corporate welfare they’ll simply walk away.

In case you’re one of those defenders of this taxpayer give-a-way, you should remember this: If you paid $1 dollar in taxes for 2010 tax year you paid more taxes than ExxonMobil (of course, if you listen to Fox Faux, you probably believe ExxonMobil’s profits were lower than their taxes.). And if you insist we must help them to find, drill and produce more oil so we will have more gas in this country, you should also remember this: Gasoline was our number 1 export in 2011.

* ($4 billion is a very minimum. Several other reports put it much higher, with some as high as $10 billion-plus per year.)

Republicans who voted for oil company welfare:

  • Richard Shelby (Alabama)
  • Jeff Sessions (Alabama)
  • Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
  • John McCain (Arizona)
  • Jon Kyl (Arizona)
  • John Boozman (Arkansas)
  • Marco Rubio (Florida)
  • Saxby Chambliss (Georgia)
  • Johnny Isakson (Georgia)
  • Jim Risch (Idaho)
  • Mike Crapo (Idaho)
  • Mark Steven Kirk (Illinois)
  • Richard G. Lugar (Indiana)
  • Daniel R. Coats (Indiana)
  • Charles E. Grassley (Iowa)
  • Jerry Moran (Kansas)
  • Pat Roberts (Kansas)
  • Mitch McConnell (Kentucky)
  • Rand Paul (Kentucky)
  • David Vitter (Louisiana)
  • Scott Brown (Massachusetts)
  • Thad Cochran (Mississippi)
  • Roger Wicker (Mississippi)
  • Roy Blunt (Missouri)
  • Mike Johanns (Nebraska)
  • Dean Heller (Nevada)
  • Kelly Ayotte (New Hampshire)
  • Richard Burr (North Carolina)
  • John Hoeven (North Dakota)
  • Rob Portman (Ohio)
  • James Inhofe (Oklahoma)
  • Tom Coburn (Oklahoma)
  • Pat Toomey (Pennsylvania)
  • Lindsey Graham (South Carolina)
  • Jim DeMint (South Carolina)
  • John R. Thune (South Dakota)
  • Lamar Alexander (Tennessee)
  • Bob Corker (Tennessee)
  • Kay Bailey Hutchison (Texas)
  • John Cornyn (Texas)
  • Orrin G. Hatch (Utah)
  • Mike Lee (Utah)
  • Ron Johnson (Wisconsin)
  • John Barrasso (Wyoming)
  • Michael B. Enzi (Wyoming)

Democrats who voted for oil company welfare:

  • Mark Begich (Alaska)
  • Mary Landrieu (Louisiana)
  • Ben Nelson (Nebraska)
  • Jim Webb (Virginia)

Two Republicans voted for in favor of ending oil and gas welfare: Sens. Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe, both from Maine.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *